View unanswered posts | View active topics



Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
NME Target 
Author Message
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm
Posts: 312
Reply with quote
Image

Adds a combo box to the project window or main toolbar to allow switching NME Targets. The thing to note about this plugin is that it overrides what is set in the project. Upon testing or building the project is updated with the value from the combo box.

Plugin: .dll or .fdz
Source: .zip

[1-12-12]
    switched to .net 2.0
    optional location MainToolbar or ProjectToolbar
    added fdz
    #2 -set dropdown.enabled=false on startup

[1-13-12]
    added offset for main toolbar
    removed old code (may fix build/test incorrect issue)
    cleaned up settings

[1-15-12]
    Mixed build/test targets should be fixed
    #2 - Disables dropdown while building


Last edited by xMCNUGGETx on Sun Jan 15, 2012 4:08 pm, edited 11 times in total.



Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:48 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
Awesome.

Is it customizable? Sometimes you'll want to add parameters/directives to the target.


Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:01 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm
Posts: 312
Reply with quote
you can type in the combo box and customize targets in the plugin settings. (currently you may need to restart fd to get the combobox repopulated from settings).


Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:07 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Reply with quote
Do you think you could put this inside an FDZ file so users can install it automatically?

Do you think it might make sense to put it in the top bar, alongside Debug/Release?

Great work! :)


Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:25 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:39 pm
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Cool, thanks!

+1 for putting it in the top bar alongside the test buttons.


Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:52 am
Profile
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm
Posts: 312
Reply with quote
updated. see original post.


Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:22 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Reply with quote
Great update!

I think what might make this perfect is if it were placed in the same group as the Debug drop-down, so that it was "Windows" "Debug" instead of "Debug" "Windows", now that I think of it.

Also, I wonder if there is a way to get the baseline between the two to match up? I forgot if they have properties that will let you adjust that. I'm sure this is because the drop-down is editable.


Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:02 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Reply with quote
Oh, weird :(

I just changed my drop-down from "Windows" to "Flash", and it compiled with "Windows", but ran with "Flash". Not sure what happened there.

FYI -- I updated the command-line tools in NME on SVN, so it accepts mixed-case in the target names. This will mean the drop-down can say "Flash", "Android", "webOS", "HTML5" and "Windows", which looks nice :)


Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:06 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm
Posts: 312
Reply with quote
elyon wrote:
I just changed my drop-down from "Windows" to "Flash", and it compiled with "Windows", but ran with "Flash".

Not sure how that could happen either.. It should be changing the project properties when on the text of the box is changed.

elyon wrote:
FYI -- I updated the command-line tools in NME on SVN, so it accepts mixed-case in the target names. This will mean the drop-down can say "Flash", "Android", "webOS", "HTML5" and "Windows", which looks nice :)

Agreed that will look much better.

elyon wrote:
so that it was "Windows" "Debug" instead of "Debug" "Windows"

I placed it after since then it looks like the Visual Studio IDE (http://www.freesoftwareworkshop.com/wp- ... dition.png)
I could be pushed either way... or make the offset from the debug drop down a setting.


Fri Jan 13, 2012 1:19 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm
Posts: 312
Reply with quote
Updated original post. Now has offset for the main toolbar. This means you could technically place the drop down anywhere. The default setting is 1 meaning place it right after the Debug/Release selector, 0 would place it before, ect.


Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:56 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
Just downloaded it and it seems fairly broken - there are 2 steps: compile, run.

It seems that only the 'run' part is handled by the plugin... (ie. it doesn't compile the right target)


Sat Jan 14, 2012 5:25 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm
Posts: 312
Reply with quote
blast. it's actually just modifying the project property directy when the combo box is changed...

basically PluginBase.CurrentProject.TestMovieCommand = nmeCombo.Text (you can see the it has changed the value in edit custom command). Is the old value cached somehow by fd? is there a better way?


Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:10 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm
Posts: 312
Reply with quote
I haven't actually used the plugin much myself and just assumed since the text in the project dialog was getting changed it would work.


Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:12 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:39 pm
Posts: 312
Reply with quote
it seems that if I call project.Save() after changing the test movie command it attempts to build the correct target. Would this be the correct process? Is there a build event that gets fired?


Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:19 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
You definitely have to .Save the project because FDBuild is a separate command line which reads the project file.


Sun Jan 15, 2012 8:47 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.